Cosmonaut Stylus Review

20121201-205123.jpg

“The Cosmonaut was born out of our desire to have a really great stylus for our iPads. We love to sketch out quick ideas or doodle on our tablets, and using a stylus is much better than a finger for such tasks. The problem is, all the styluses on the market are designed to look and feel like a pen. But why? Writing or drawing on the iPad feels nothing like using a pen or pencil. The perfect tablet stylus is one that feels like a dry erase marker: fast, simple, low fidelity.” – Studio Neat

Packaging = 10
Eco friendly cardboard and small size. The missile printed fins on the inside is a nice touch of whimsy.

Quality = 10
Has a nice weight, feels good in your hand, quality construction.

Cool Factor = 10
Carry one of these around and people know you are a serious, creative digital artist.

If it’s so cool, why do I do I give it a low rating of 4?

It nothing particular to the Cosmonaut…it’s not you, it’s me.

I’ve tried to like a tablet stylus before. My wife has a smaller kind and I found that I just don’t like using a stylus when using the iPad. I just don’t do a lot of digital doodling. Then, there is the always persistent issue of storage. Where do you put it when you are not using it? It’s round and has a tendency to roll off whatever surface I’ve put it on. Caring around the cardboard holder isn’t practical, and putting it in your pocket?…that could get awkward.

I think the fatter the pen, the bigger the drawing space should be. Like fat crayons when you were in kindergarten…you couldn’t wait to upgrade to what the big boys were drawing with. While a dry erase maker feels nice to hold, you have a much larger space to express yourself.

I’m glad I tried it (only $25), but I’m not going to use it. But I got to admit…it looks cool just sitting there.

Leave a Reply

