Why I’m Ga GA for Google Voice

google-voice

What can I say? I admit it…I’m too cheap to pay for a texting plan. That doesn’t mean I don’t need to text people…or that people don’t text me.

I just do it for free…with Google Voice.

[youtube http://youtu.be/cOZU7BOeQ58]

My favorite feature  is that I get texts and voice messages sent to my email…my one stop hub for all things digital. I can even reply to texts from email (just remember to delete all the other words in the message before sending). I use the Google Voice App for the iPhone. There is even a GoogleVoice plug-in for the Chrome browser where I can receive and send texts from my computer using a real keyboard.

google voice

Google Voice works great with phone numbers for people, but there are some downsides.

  • It doesn’t work at all with SMS short codes ie. “text 2653  to enter to win”
  • You can’t receive texts with pictures attached…they just don’t show up.
  • And you can’t use it to confirm accounts for Banks and other financial institutions (PayPal, CraigsList, etc)
  • Remember to give people your Google Voice number…not your cell phone number.

There are a lot of features I don’t use (cheap international calls, do not disturb  custom greetings for different callers, etc)…and wish that it was more integrated into the iPhone like it is with Android (good luck with that, right?)

Leave a Reply

