Augmented Reality And You

aurasma2aug·men·ted re·al·i·ty
a technology that superimposes a computer-generated image on a user’s view of the real world, thus providing a composite view. [Google]

In 2012 I watched a TED Talk about a company called Aurasma and how they had made it possible for everyone that had an iPhone to create their own augmented reality experience. I had experimented with it a little bit, but put it down and forgot about it…until a few weeks ago. A copier sales rep came to my office and handed me a postcard that played a video when you pointed your phone at it. I have to admit…it was cool.

I  wanted to see if I could duplicate it, and fortunately, I knew right where to go. In less than 20 minutes I had my own augmented reality postcard.

At this point I see it as more of a gimmick or novelty item…but admittedly, a VERY COOL novelty item! Personally, I would rather give someone a web URL or use a QR code to link them directly to a video vs download the app, hold up a postcard. etc. But imagine the future…we could all be creating Worship Folders, or missions reports that read like a  Harry Potter Newspaper!

If you know ahead of time, and everyone downloaded the app first, it could make for one heck of an interesting scavenger hunt for your High School or College group!

Get the FREE Aurasma App

Get the App on Google PlayGet the App on the App Store

*At this writing, I would stick with the iPhone app…I found the iPad version to be a bit buggy. 

2 thoughts on “Augmented Reality And You

  1. Bruce – I agree with your take on ‘AR’ – I’ve tinkered with it myself and I know my kids really love some games that incorporate the feature, but for the moment I think it’s just a novelty and has very little real marketing value. In fact, we’ve actually had extremely limited success with QR codes, which are much better established than AR experiences, although I believe that our church demographics may have a lot to do with that…

    I think I may have been visited by the same copier salesperson, in fact! 🙂

    • Mike, The number of people that scan our QR Codes is abysmal. I track everyone we make with Google’s free QR code generator http://goo.gl/. Last year we passed out 5,000 business card invitations to our annual Halloween event…it it was less than 50 (1%). Sill, I like to include them for the “cool” factor.

      And yes, those copier salesman sure get around : )

Leave a Reply

