What The Wig Turns 1 Year Old Today!

Get out the cake and light the candle! It’s hard to believe that it’s been a year since I started the What the Wig blog, sharing some of the things I’ve learned about church communications. So far, at 130+ posts, who would of thought I had so much to say!

30580

7 Lessons I’ve learned So Far.

  1. Your blog posts do not write themselves. It goes without saying, but you have to put in the the work.
  2. Pace Yourself. The key to any blog is consistency. You have to find a pace you can maintain. You don’t want your blog commitment to turn into a monster of your own making. My initial idea was that I would write once a day. With a  busy work schedule, a family and a desire to have a life, I found out pretty fast, that was unrealistic. My current goal is three times a week, and starting in 2014 to cut back to twice a week.
  3. Write in batches. When you write one blog, you might as well write another one while you are in the “zone.” The ability to schedule blog posts into the future is a life saver. (In fact, I wrote this post on 11/3)
  4. If you write it, it doesn’t mean they will come. If you think you are going to be the next Seth Godin or Michael Hyatt with hundreds of thousand of readers overnight, you’ve got another thing coming. It takes time to “find your voice,” build an audience and gain the right to be heard.
  5. Write about what interests you. Since, for a while, you are going to be your best reader, write about what you find fascinating…things you would want to share with a friend or colleague if you had a chance. If you’re not interesting to you, in the long term, you won’t be interesting to anyone.
  6. Writing helps you clarify your thinking. Even if nobody else reads my blog, the process of writing it has been a good one. It has helped me clarify my thinking on several topics and I believe I am a faster and better writer because of it. I’ve also found it extremely helpful to have blog posts to send to people after discussing a topic. You’ve already done the thinking…just send a link!
  7. You never know what people with find interesting. My number one blog post was the one on Unlocking True Type Fonts. In a million years I never would have guessed that one. Thank you Google!
One thought on “What The Wig Turns 1 Year Old Today!

Leave a Reply

