4 Questions and 1 Exhortation

Dash

As we look to the coming year, here are four questions and one exhortation for you to ponder. I have found these so helpful, that I’ve labeled them on my car dashboard where I see them every day.

FOUR QUESTIONS

    1. What’s The Next Action? – For those of you familiar with David Allen’s book Getting Things Done, you know this is the 2nd question to ask after you ask the “What are you trying to accomplish?” Both are excellent questions…one to help clarify what you are doing and one to help keep your projects moving. Whether you have a  tendency to procrastinate, or you are overwhelmed with work, this is a great question to keep in front of you.
    2. How Do I Make Others Feel? –  There is a quote by poet Maya Angelou that has been very convicting to me. She said “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” This is a reminder to me that not only do I need to watch what I do, but how I do it…not only what I say, but how I say it.
    3. What Are Your Assumptions? – Behind all faulty plans, foolish thinking and bad ideas and are false assumptions. They are also at the center of many relational conflicts. When we write down our assumptions, often we find they are just plain wrong…or that “big” obstacles are not as big as they originally appeared, or are are easily overcome with a few minor adjustments. 
    4. What Habits Are You Developing? – Your habits will make you or break you. “Habit is a cable; we weave a thread of it each day, and at last we cannot break it.” – Horace Mann. Recognize you are 100% disciplined to your existing habits. Most of the time it’s not about adding habits…it’s about replacing them.

ONE EXHORTATION

  1. Be Patient – Patience is one of the manifestations of the fruit of the spirit. It is also the hallmark of a mature adult…and mandatory in the workplace. So whether you need patience in dealing with others, or you need to wait patiently for the Lord to reveal His next step, be patient.
Leave a Reply

