This afternoon I was handed a three ring binder with 100 printed pages and asked if I could put it in Word so it could be edited. When I inquired about the original Word.doc , I was told that the file was a year old old, two states and three secretaries removed, and that the original file was nowhere to be had.

online-ocrNeedless to say, I was NOT looking forward to this job. Many years ago I had used software that would both OCR and keep the formatting, but it was expensive, flaky and I no longer had access. I did a Google Search for “OCR to Word” and the first listing was “FREE Online OCR.” So I clicked it.

According to their website:

“OnlineOCR.net is a free web-based Optical Character Recognition software (OCR) that allows you to convert scanned PDF documents (including multipage files), faxes, photographs or digital camera captured images into editable and searchable electronic documents including Adobe PDF, Microsoft Word, Microsoft Excel, Rtf, Html and Txt.

If you have a scanned document and want to avoid retyping your document, Free Online OCR service is the fast way to do it.”

That sounded like me. They had a free option so I uploaded a single page. It turned out nice. I registered and sent a few more…these were really nice. I purchased 100 pages for less then $7 and within 10 minutes had all 100 pages converted, ready for editing. They turned out beautiful…just like the original.

It formatted the paragraph text, indended text, text in columns, bold, italic and underlined text. It even correctly placed logos and footer formatting!

This service saved me literally HOURS of work. If I ever need to OCR a scanned document again, I’m going here first.

4 thoughts on “OCR to Formatted Word Document SOLVED

  1. Thanks for the review! I just setup a few accounts to get more than 25 pages into DOCX format but it’s good to know their paid feature works (though not very cost-effective for thousands of pages).

Leave a Reply

