I lost admin privileges to my Facebook page.

Now What?

Yes, that was me. Very sad.

How it happened? I have no clue. Zero. Nada. None.

All I know is that as the person in charge of our social media and event promotion, I had two weeks of sheer frustration trying to get it back. I spent hours on Google looking for a solution. Nothing.

Facebook has no tech support whatsoever. No phone number to call, no email to ask for assistance and their “help” area isn’t so helpful. In desperation, I even contacted Facebook Ad support. While I got an email acknowledging the problem, they never solved it.

Fortunately, after almost two weeks of lost access (missing Easter in the process), I remembered and old login using a different email. Using that, I was able reestablish myself as an admin.

This experience reminded me of this verse…

“Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up!” Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 ESV

After gaining control, I immediately made a trusted friend of mine a second-page admin.

This is a great reminder to make sure you have a backup plan for all your social media activities. Who, besides you knows your passwords? What if you die? What if a trusted employee leaves? Believe me, the last thing you want is to be left in the dark with no access. Better a little preventative effort NOW, then great regret LATER.

2 thoughts on “Facebook Pages – Why You Need Two Admins ASAP

  1. Having more than one Admin is so important for groups: non-profits, schools, clubs, etc. I am a member of Alpha Gama Sigma at Crafton Hills College. Someone (an honors student, no less), many semesters ago and now long gone from the school, set up a Facebook page for the AGS honors club. Now none of the current members know the original email or password. Our club’s Facebook page is out-of-date and useless. Think ahead. Leave the Admin login info where others who come after you can find it.

Leave a Reply

